NASCAR: William Byron wins Daytona 500 for Hendrick Motorsports team

DAYTONA BEACH, Florida. – William Byron won the legendary Daytona 500 under the white flag on Monday night, giving Hendrick Motorsports its first win in ten years in the event dubbed ” great american race ».

The victory of Byron, who had never achieved more than 21st position in Daytona Beach, ironically occurred after he himself was the protagonist of a multiple crash, on lap 192.

The last Hendrick driver to cross the finish line first was Dale Earnhardt Jr. in the 2014 edition.

Several of the title contenders were forced to withdraw after the huge collision.

When the restart took place, there were only four laps remaining and Byron took advantage of his second place on the grid to battle Trackhouse Racing’s Ross Chastain for top honors.

After he and Chastain traded the lead several times, Byron found himself at the front of the field when a white flag was waved for the 200th and final lap.

Christopher Bell of the Joe Gibbs Racing team completed the podium.

History of Daytona 500 winners

2024: William Byron
2023: Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
2022: Austin Cindric
2021: Michael McDowell
2020: Denny Hamlin
2019: Denny Hamlin
2018: Austin Dillon
2017: Kurt Busch
2016: Denny Hamlin
2015: Joey Logano
2014: Dale Earnhardt Jr.
2013: Jimmie Johnson
2012: Matt Kenseth
2011: Trevor Bayne
2010: Jamie McMurray
2009: Matt Kenseth
2008: Ryan Newman
2007: Kevin Harvick
2006: Jimmie Johnson
2005: Jeff Gordon
2004: Dale Earnhardt Jr.
2003: Michael Waltrip
2002: Ward Burton
2001: Michael Waltrip
2000: Dale Jarrett
1999: Jeff Gordon
1998: Dale Earnhardt
1997: Jeff Gordon
1996: Dale Jarrett
1995: Sterling Marlin
1994: Sterling Marlin
1993: Dale Jarrett
1992: Davey Allison
1991: Ernie Irván
1990: Derrike Cope
1989: Darrell Waltrip
1988: Bobby Allison
1987: Bill Elliott
1986: Geoff Bodine
1985: Bill Elliott
1984: Cale Yarborough
1983: Cale Yarborough
1982: Bobby Allison
1981: Richard Petty
1980 – Buddy Baker
1979: Richard Petty
1978: Bobby Allison
1977: Cale Yarborough
1976: David Pearson
1975: Benny Parsons
1974: Richard Petty
1973: Richard Petty
1972: A.J. Foyt
1971: Richard Petty
1970: Pete Hamilton
1969: Lee Roy Yarbrough
1968: Cale Yarborough
1967: Mario Andretti
1966: Richard Petty
1965: Fred Lorenzen
1964: Richard Petty
1963 – Little Lund
1962 — Fireball Roberts
1961: Marvin Panch
1960: Junior Johnson
1959: Lee Petty

About Bilanova

Check Also

Women's world hockey: the Canadians regain their throne as queens

Women’s world hockey: the Canadians regain their throne as queens

Canadian women are back on top of the world. Danielle Serdachny donned her hero cape …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *